21 November 2017 11:31:07 PST (GMT -8)

Tucson MTB: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
sonoranbiker
Centurion
Centurion

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 2:33 pm Reply with quote Back to top

This weekend I rode the Swift Cycles campout, put on by Transit Bikes (thanks guys!) and I figured it would make sense to throw my CB Candies back on the commuter/touring bike since it was 35 miles each way on the road. After riding clipless for years, about 5 years ago I started riding flats exclusively, even on my commuter. I have grown to love how easy it is to get on and off the bike with flats, and I feel like I have much more control since I can push the rear end of the bike around with my feet. Modern flats with good sticky rubber shoes are amazing. I am not making arguments about what is faster (I really don't care about that), but riding on flats makes for a much more fun and comfortable riding experience. I think one of the biggest disservices we do new riders is telling them that all the cool riders go clipless, and that learning how to ride includes falling over a bunch of times unnecessarily because you can't get out of your pedals.

After riding around for a few days on the Candies, it's amazing how much more I prefer flats. Even with being "attached" to the pedals, I feel like my feet are flopping around and I'm completed disconnected from the bike. It seems like the only benefit of being clipped in is being able to pull up while pedaling, but at the cost of having to push down on a surface the size of a quarter that my feet slop around on and having to wear goofy shoes (OK... my 5.10 Impacts are pretty goofy too) that slip and slide when I walk on them. On flats, I feel waaay more connected and in control.

It was good to try them out again, and I may use clipless for longer touring/road trips, but at this point I think I'm on flats for life.

Centurion
Centurion

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 6:51 am Reply with quote Back to top